Cottonwood BBS

This forum provides information on BBS' which Commodore hardware (and emulators) may connect

Moderators: wiskow, Trazan

wiskow
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

Cottonwood BBS

Post by wiskow »

I was a SysOp of a small BBS in Portland, Oregon, around 16 or 17 years ago. Back then, mine was one of dozens of dial-up Commodore BBS's in the Portland area, and one of thousands of BBS's all over North America. After spending several years overseas, I've recently returned to the U.S., and I discovered that there are no active dial-up Commodore BBS's left anywhere in North America... possibly in the entire world!

So... I decided to bring my BBS back to life. What started out as something that I *thought* was going to be easy, turned out to be a bit more difficult than I first anticipated... but not impossible! I brought my BBS back online, only to find that I needed some new hardware to get my BBS running reliably. So I had to take it down for a bit... But when I get it back online officialy, I'll be posting an announcement here.

For testing purposes, I will have my BBS up from time to time, so if you'd like to give it a shot, you can try giving it a call:

Cottonwood BBS
(951) 571-2003

Once it's officially back online, it'll be up 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. And I don't intend to take it down anytime soon. I feel that there should be at least one dial-up Commodore BBS in existence... if for no other reason than to give something for people to test out their Commodore modems on. But more importantly, I just want to preserve what I feel is a sort of "lost art".