CBM 8032

If you want help with your PET, VIC, 128 or Plus4 programming, this is the place for you!

Moderators: wiskow, Trazan

Post Reply
User avatar
Colin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:55 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

CBM 8032

Post by Colin »

Hi i am new to this site and hope i can get some help on a CBM 8032 computer.
I just got this out of storage for the last 30 years plugged it in and all was working fine.
The next day i turned it on and at boot the screen showed full of Zeros " 0 " this happened
about 2 seconds before the Commodore logo appeared, most of the logo contained various
graphic symbols so hard to read . The zeros show on columbs 2,4,6 etc across the screen
and all in between columbs are blank 1,3,5, etc. Any help to locate this problem would
be appreciated.
Regards Colin
User avatar
rbernardo
Posts: 2866
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:00 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!
Location: Visalia, California, USA
Contact:

Re: CBM 8032

Post by rbernardo »

Have you pushed down on the socketed chips? They can lose contact (wiggle loose) over time.

Truly,
________________
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
User avatar
Colin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:55 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

Re: CBM 8032

Post by Colin »

Hi Robert and thank you for your reply. I have replaced these chips.
UD6,7,8,9,10 Rom UB12 pia UB13 crt UB14mpu UB15via UB16pia
UA3rom UA4 to Ua19 dynamic ram
UA2 8bit register UC1 schottky flip/flop UC2 Ex or gate
checked all power supply components and voltages
I would appreciate any more suggestions
User avatar
Colin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:55 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

Re: CBM 8032

Post by Colin »

I finally got it fixed, turned out to be a bad UC7 static ram
User avatar
rbernardo
Posts: 2866
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:00 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!
Location: Visalia, California, USA
Contact:

Re: CBM 8032

Post by rbernardo »

Heh, I was about to suggest it was a RAM problem. :)

Truly,
________________
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
User avatar
Colin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:55 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

Re: CBM 8032

Post by Colin »

Thanks Robert I replaced it with MPS2114 from an old pet 2001 it fixed the problem for 1 day then that chip died again .The original in the 8032 just says it's a 2114 chip so have been looking for new mm2114 or mps2114
User avatar
Colin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:55 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

Re: CBM 8032

Post by Colin »

Pictures of my Commodore collection :)
User avatar
Colin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:55 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

Re: CBM 8032

Post by Colin »

Pictures of my Commodore collection
Attachments
PET2.JPG
PET2.JPG (60.18 KiB) Viewed 8871 times
PET1.JPG
PET1.JPG (63.1 KiB) Viewed 8871 times
PET.JPG
PET.JPG (56.89 KiB) Viewed 8871 times
User avatar
rbernardo
Posts: 2866
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:00 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!
Location: Visalia, California, USA
Contact:

Re: CBM 8032

Post by rbernardo »

Very nice!

Happy New Year!
________________
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
User avatar
Colin
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:55 pm
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

Re: CBM 8032

Post by Colin »

Thank you Robert and Happy New Year to you :)
Post Reply