PET Cassette port issue

Welcome back to our Commodore Discussion forum. If you have a question, comment, problem, or just want to chat about Commodore, post it here for free.

Have some fun and talk to others interested in the Old and New Commodore world.

Moderators: wiskow, Trazan

AlpacaLips
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

PET Cassette port issue

Post by AlpacaLips »

I have a PET 2001-32B upgraded to BASIC 4.0. Cassette Port 1 on the back doesn’t fully work. It detects when play is pressed and the Datasette turns, but it stays on “searching.” Cassette port 2 inside usually works fine, although it usually won’t find a file unless I load the exact file name without * wildcards. (I’m new to PET so I don’t know if this is normal behavior.) This behavior is the same with a physical Datasette and with the 1541-Ultimate tape adapter receiving TAP files served from a Commodore 64.

Using the internal port has been a fine workaround. However, I just got a Cassiopei 2.0. Apparently the Cassiopei uses BOTH cassette buffers, and as a result I can’t use it fully. I can use it in single file loading mode in port 2, but I can’t use its custom Menu loading program. So I need to fix my PET.

I’ve thoroughly cleaned the port 1 contacts. It behaves the same regardless of the cassette device used so I’m confident the problem is internal to the PET.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Is there a particular chip which would make cassette port 1 go bad while not affecting cassette port 2? Or, is there a single chip that controls both cassette ports which might be on its way out?

Is there a source for such chips?

I really want to get this working because the machine is in beautiful condition otherwise and I’m eager to get it working fully.
LoneWolf33
Are you a real person?: No... I am a spambot, delete my account!

Re: PET Cassette port issue

Post by LoneWolf33 »

Hi,